Elgin Library Footbridge

Elgin Library Footbridge:

A few years ago I saw a lorry scrape under the Elgin Library footbridge. Sparks flying, and a mark left on the bridge. (I’ve seen a few near misses since while at the bus stop. Some less than three inches)

I reported it to Moray Council’s Jacqueline and Caroline, and they took it seriously and reported it to BEAR Scotland who also took it seriously enough to inspect it. The bridge is the same design. Who designed and built them? People said if a lorry hit it hard it would simply stop the lorry. I said no, because even reinforced concrete can break from a shock wave. Weight and gravity does the rest. Who was right? Every time I see it I shudder, as it did when the lorry scraped it.

Jacqueline, Caroline, the police who keep an eye on lorry loading, including height Etc., BEAR Scotland and myself are not looking for brownie points. Just keep an eye on that bridge, and the state of the concrete, is all we ask. Proper arches in future please, those bridges rely too much on concrete strength alone.

M20 Bridge 27.08.16BBCi Screenshot

Elgin Library FootbridgeGdicm Photo. Elgin Library Footbridge over the A96.

P.S. If I were that motorcyclist I’d buy a lottery ticket next week.

About gdicm

At present I am disabled (Leprosy)
This entry was posted in News And Politics, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

